You are here

Back to top

12/1/2022: 2022 Staff Favorites!

We have picked our favorite reads of the year!
Of course none of us could choose just one, so we have a lovely list of books we wholeheartedly recommend!

We have chosen a lovely and varied list -- which includes:

  • Debut novel.
  • Historical fiction.
  • Fiction.
  • Mystery.
  • Science fiction.
  • Fantasy.
  • Memoir.
  • Cookbook.
  • Essays.
  • True Crime.
  • Children's Picture Book.
  • Young Reader.
  • Young Adult.
  • Award Winner.

Listed in order of publication date, most recent first.

Books: 
The Light Pirate: GMA Book Club Selection Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781538708279
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Grand Central Publishing - December 6th, 2022

Chosen as lead review for December 2022 Indie Next List

“A survivor of a book. In the not-too-distant future, Florida is hurricane central, and Wanda (a hurricane namesake) is in the eye of this story that wraps around you; you’ll hold on for dear life, with everybody else.”
— Michelle Bear, Edmonds Bookshop, Edmonds, WA


We Are the Light: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781668005422
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Avid Reader Press / Simon & Schuster - November 1st, 2022

Michelle's choice for favorite read of 2022.

Staff recommended: Having experienced his own therapeutic sessions Matthew comes through beautifully with this stunning book about a tragedy in a small town [something that happens all too often] and told in one-sided letters - this story affirms we are all light-filled people. Thank you Matthew! ~Michelle

Chosen for the November 2022 Indie Next List.


The Passenger Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780307268990
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf - October 25th, 2022

Mary Kay's choice for favorite read of 2022.


Inciting Joy: Essays Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781643753041
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Algonquin Books - October 25th, 2022

Michelle's choice for favorite read of 2022.


The Three Billy Goats Gruff Cover Image
By Mac Barnett, Jon Klassen (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781338673845
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Orchard Books - October 18th, 2022

Mary Kay's choice for favorite read of 2022.


Signal Fires: A novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593534724
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf - October 18th, 2022

Michelle's choice for favorite read of 2022.

Staff recommended: Dr. Wilf and Waldo [not that Waldo!] two unexpected but necessary and really sincere friends. A story to feel good about your neighbors and every one really... ~Michelle.

Bestselling author Dani Shapiro chats with The Seattle Times about her deeply poignant new novel. Review here.


Mamacita: Recipes Celebrating Life as a Mexican Immigrant in America Cover Image
By Andrea Pons, Matt Ogle (Illustrator), hetty lui McKinnon (Foreword by)
$29.95
ISBN: 9781648961717
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Princeton Architectural Press - October 18th, 2022

David's choice for favorite read of 2022.

"Mamacita" began as a celebration of the authentic Mexican recipes Andrea Pons loved growing up, but it quickly became a way for her to return to her roots and reconnect with her Mexican heritage. In her journey through food, she shares not only her experiences with cooking but also her family’s immigration story.

We hosted, and David was the interviewer at the amazing event with Ms. Pons November 17, 2022. We posted a recording of the event on our facebook page, here.


Stay True: A Memoir Cover Image
By Hua Hsu
$26.00
ISBN: 9780385547772
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Doubleday - September 27th, 2022

David's choice for favorite read of 2022.

Staff recommended: A moving college years coming-of-age memoir by a culture writer at The New Yorker. ~David.


The Ways We Hide: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781728249766
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Sourcebooks Landmark - September 6th, 2022

Susan's choice for favorite read of 2022.

Staff recommended:  ~Susan.


Pastoral Song: A Farmer's Journey Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780063073241
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Mariner Books - August 16th, 2022

Mary Kay's choice for favorite read of 2022.

Staff recommended: Inheriting his family farm leads Rebanks to turn his back on modern farming methods. He turns to age-old practices to improve the health of his soil and to bring back birds + other wildlife - all while trying to turn a profit. ~Mary Kay.


Wildoak Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781338803860
Availability: Backordered
Published: Scholastic Press - September 20th, 2022

Eleanor's choice for favorite read of 2022.

Staff recommended. This is a story of Maggie, a young girl with a stutter who is struggling in school but very accomplished at communicating with animals and the natural world.  Her story crosses with that of Rumpus, a snow leopard cub who has escaped his life as an exotic pet.  Their chance meeting in an ancient forest, under threat of development, sets in motion a beautiful resolution for them both.  ~Eleanor


Billy Summers Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781982173623
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Gallery Books - August 2nd, 2022

Elaine's choice for favorite read of 2022.

Staff recommended. A military-trained sharp shooter turned hit man reluctantly takes one more job... he is a little worried -- in all the movies whenever someone takes "just one last job," things usually go horribly wrong... And sure enough, before too long, complications ensue.

Those of you who don't usually read Stephen King -- there is none of his usual supernatural/horror stuff [well, one small nod to "The Shining" but that is just for those of us in the know...;]  This is a great page-turner of a read with a complicated main character. And a couple of really good twists!
Loved it! ~ Elaine


When the Moon Turns to Blood: Lori Vallow, Chad Daybell, and a Story of Murder, Wild Faith, and End Times Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781538721353
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Twelve - June 21st, 2022

David's choice for favorite read of 2022.

Staff recommended: It's very dark and covers cults and child murder -- but it is a genuine page turner, as the author digs deep into the backgrounds of Lori Vallow and Chad Daybell, and their Idaho Mormon end-times religious faith gone horribly wrong. ~David

And in the words of Jess Walter, it is "a harrowing and fascinating tale of apocalyptic obsession and murder.”


Horse: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780399562969
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Viking - June 14th, 2022

Pat's choice for favorite read of 2022.

**full disclosure: most of us have read this and all of us that have put this on our favorites list! Completely recommended!

Staff recommended: Based on the true story of horse racing's greatest stud sire, the tale moves from the 1800s to the present with a multilayered story of the legacy of racism in America. ~Susan

Staff recommended: The greatest racehorse in American history is the center point of this novel. Set in the current day and in 1850 the story weaves many threads together including animal/human relations, history of enslavement and the durability of art and bones. ~Mary Kay


Where the Language Lives: VI Hilbert and the Gift of Lushootseed Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781954854260
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Girl Friday Productions LLC (P696) - May 1st, 2022

Eleanor's choice for favorite read of 2022.

Staff recommended: This is a book full of light + enlightenment! Janet Yoder opens a door on the amazing life of Skagit tribal elder Vi Hilbert. As she shares what she's learned, our hearts and minds are opened, not only about the Lushootseed language, but also about how to live. ~Eleanor

We were lucky enough to host an event with Janet Yoder in May of 2022. The link to the recorded event is here on our facebook page.

Listening to her talking about Vi Hilbert and reading the essays from the book -- made for a completely lovely and moving evening! We were grateful to be there!


When Women Were Dragons: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780385548229
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Doubleday - May 3rd, 2022

Elaine's choice for favorite read of 2022.


Remarkably Bright Creatures: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780063204157
Availability: Backordered
Published: Ecco - May 3rd, 2022

Pat's choice for favorite read of 2022.

**full disclosure: most of us have read this and all of us that have put this on our best of list! Completely recommended!

Staff recommended! Michelle and Elaine both highly recommend this book!

Great review of this debut novel in The Washington Post!

Chosen for May IndieBound. Review here!


The Ministry for the Future: A Novel Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316300148
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Orbit - October 19th, 2021

Susan's choice for favorite read of 2022.

Staff recommended. Book about climate change unlike any other, positive approach with very innovative solutions. Desperate and hopeful in equal measures. ~Susan.


Firekeeper's Daughter Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250766564
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - March 16th, 2021

Elaine's choice for favorite read of 2022.

Angeline Boulley's debut novel is a groundbreaking YA thriller about a Native teen who must root out the corruption in her community, perfect for readers of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange.

2022 Michael L. Printz Award Winner. The Michael L. Printz Award is an award for a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature.

A 2022 MORRIS AWARD WINNER! The William C. Morris YA Debut Award honors a book published by a first-time author writing for teens and celebrating impressive new voices in young adult literature.

2022 Edgar® Award winner: BEST YOUNG ADULT. Link to the entire list of winners is here.

A REESE WITHERSPOON x HELLO SUNSHINE BOOK CLUB YA PICK

Angeline Boulley, an enrolled member of the Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians, is a storyteller who writes about her Ojibwe community in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. She is a former Director of the Office of Indian Education at the U.S. Department of Education. Angeline lives in southwest Michigan, but her home will always be on Sugar Island.


The House in the Cerulean Sea Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250217318
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tor Books - December 29th, 2020

Susan's choice for favorite read.

Staff recommended: Such a lovely and sweet book. Accepting yourself and others for who and what they and you are. Not relying on preconceived notions. And realizing what makes a family. Completely teared up at the end. Really loved it. ~Elaine

Staff recommended: A zany and heartfelt book that explores what it is to be different. ~ Susan.


The Gray Man Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780425276389
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley - September 2nd, 2014

David's choice for favorite read of 2022.

Staff recommended: The Gray Man series  - the titular hero is a more down-to-earth version of Jack Reacher, in international settings. ~David.